projectz

Tech, Gadgets, Photography, Social Media and Poor Spelling

How I Went Completely Paperless in Two Days

When you look at the piles of paper you’ve stored for years, going paperless feels daunting. Not only do you have to scan everything, but you have to catalogue it, too. While you can’t escape the task itself, a Doxie portable scanner—combined with the free, awesome Evernote software—can make the process a whole lot easier.

How I Went Completely Paperless in Two DaysI put off digitizing my paper for over two years until I started using these two tools. After just a little setup, I got through all my paper in two days and have no trouble staying on top of all the paper that comes my way. Rather than letting it pile up in a drawer or in my car, I just feed it into Doxie and toss it in the recycling. A few times a week, I digitally staple documents together in the included Doxie software, then send them over as PDFs to Evernote. Thanks to Evernote’s built-in optical character recognition (OCR), I can then search the full text of any scanned document. Additionally, my digital paper isn’t just on my computer but also available through any web browser or smartphone. Normally I wouldn’t love the idea of personal information syncing all over the internet, but because Evernote uses SSL I feel comfortable having my semi-private information saved online. All in all, if you want to go paperless effortlessly, securely, and inexpensively, you can do so with Evernote and Doxie. Here’s how.

How I Went Completely Paperless in Two Days.

3 comments on “How I Went Completely Paperless in Two Days

  1. David Maher
    January 10, 2013

    Thanks David. I use Evernote and have been looking for ways to continue the paperless drive, just not known where to look for the right hardware!

  2. Pingback: Followup: Scanning directly to Evernote from a Mac « projectz

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2013 by in guides, Lifehacker, tip and tagged , , , .
