projectz

Tech, Gadgets, Photography, Social Media and Poor Spelling

Moving to KDE 4.10 on Ubuntu 13.04 is it a leap of faith?

kde4desktop

 

My work PC has an Nvidia Optimus graphics card in it, which for the past few months while using Gnome 3 on Sabaton Linux has not been an issue however some inconstancies in startup and 802.1x on wired ports I installed Ubuntu 13.04.. and then my day got worse..

If you are looking for a Unity bashing post, its not here, Unity has its place in the desktop eco system, however for some reason right this moment, it just doesn’t seem to play well with the graphics card I have. I’m not a winger however i’m a fixer so a quick apt-get install kubuntu-desktop and reboot later and i’m working now in KDE with no glitches.

I’ve never really worked using KDE before, i’ve tried installing it, its been a bit too buggy so i’ve stopped using it, seems however i’m stuck (in a good way) with it now and I thought having spent a few months with Gnome 3, it might be a good thing to see just how the other half live.

I was impressed that out of the box dual screen just worked, and i feel like I have more screen real estate, not sure if thats perception or fact and things do seem more tweakable.

With a steep learning curve in place at work i though in for a penny in for a pound and have just installed KDE 4.10 on my Acer Aspire S3. Once i’ve posted this, i will reboot after running

1 sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/backports
2 sudo apt-get update
3 sudo apt-get install kde-full

Which I think should give me the lot.. at a gb of space being taken up, it certainly should..

There is a purpose to all this madness.. a comparison between the Big 3 Gnome 33, Unity and KDE 4.10 if you will in an actual work environment, being used as my sole working Sysadmin Desktop which works best?

That post will come, in the mean time, i’m going to reboot..

7 comments on “Moving to KDE 4.10 on Ubuntu 13.04 is it a leap of faith?

  1. Steve
    June 27, 2013

    All the best with this – let’s share experiences!

    • projectzme
      June 27, 2013

      Well i’m in, its not crashed, is it me or is there more display real estate..?

    • Steve
      June 30, 2013

      Oooops! I’ve given up! Got to the point where YAST and Firefox refused to run for no obvious reason – such a shame – I was really enjoying the KDE (Opensuse) experience! Back to Mint/Mate – solid and reliable and fast – not quite so exciting!

      • projectzme
        June 30, 2013

        I can tell you that with no bumblebee or tumbleweed kde works out of the box with a stock ubuntu install then installing the 4.10 kde repo and installing kde-full I am using it at work, as unity borks out and displays nothing but wallpaper.. Otherwise if you want some excitement give unity kde a go, that just installs and works on Optimus.

  2. dkoolgeek
    June 28, 2013

    I use all three desktops (KDE, Gnome 3.x and Unity) on a regular basis. I find that I tend to work more efficiently KDE and Gnome but Unity less so. And yes, there is more display real estate in KDE particularly over Unity.

    • projectzme
      June 28, 2013

      The more desktop bit alone on kde has me stoked, such a little thing, but actually makes a huge difference.

  3. Pingback: KDE 4.10: Thoughts after nearly a week.. | projectz

Leave a Reply

